Physics Department was established for educational activities (with 1 Assoc. Prof., 4 asistant proffessor and 3 research assistant) with decree law no.41 dated 20 June 1982 and Law no. 2809 dated 30 March 1982 which accepted the decree law with changes. However, our faculity’ s name was changed to Science Faculity with the Council of Ministry desicion at 2011. Since then, our department as a Science Faculity Physics Depertment has been carrying out its activities with 6 sub-branches which are named as Statistical Physics, Atomic and Molecular Physics, General Physics, Condensed Matter Physics, Mathematical Physics and Nuclear Physics areas and 56 instructors (32 Professors, 14 Assoc. Prof., 1 Assis. Prof., 9 Research Asisstant and 5 expert). Besides, Polatlı Campus Physics Department pursues its educational activities within our physics department.

Physics Department together with its all instructors intends that to give all students basic physics knowledge via benefits of modern day technologies. The period of bachelor’ s level is 4 years. In order to graduate, the student must take Research Project I and II lessons, succeed all of its lessons with at least GDA (Grade Average Point) point of 2.00 over 4.00. Education language is Turkish. Alumnies from this department can work as a researcher at their spesific areas and a researcher at R&D laboratories at different governmental and private sector institutions, modern analysis and quality control laboratories and in case of taking mandatory education certificate, they can serve at various institutions. In our department, there is a M.Sc. and Ph.D. programmes. Our gradute students are registered for one of the Statistical Physics, Atomik and Molecular Physics, General Physics, Condensed Matter Physics and Mathematical Physics areas.